Misdemeanor and felony penalties in the state of Arkansas vary greatly, depending on the charged offense. With four misdemeanor classifications and six classifications for felony charges, some guidance may be necessary in determining what penalties you or a loved one will face if accused of a criminal offense.
Misdemeanors are crimes punishable by up to one year in jail. Misdemeanors in Arkansas may be designated as Class A, B, or C. Some misdemeanors are unclassified. For unclassified crimes, the sentence will be set forth in the criminal statute. The state of Arkansas has one year from the date a misdemeanor is committed to begin criminal prosecution against a defendant. Most misdemeanors are expungable upon completion of a defendant’s sentence.
Class A Misdemeanor- up to a year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines
Class B Misdemeanor- up to 90 days in jail and up to $1,000 in fines
Class C Misdemeanor- up to 30 days in jail and up to $500 in fines
The sentence for an unclassified misdemeanor will be limited by that particular criminal statute.
Felonies in the State of Arkansas are designated for more serious crimes and carry with them much harsher punishments. Unlike misdemeanors, a felony charge is punishable by a state prison sentence of more than one year. With a felony conviction, you lose your rights to vote, hold public office, and to carry a firearm.
Class Y Felony- prison sentence of ten to forty years, or life.
Class A Felony- prison sentence of six years but no more than thirty years.
Class B Felony- prison sentence of five years but no more than twenty years.
Class C Felony- prison sentence of three years but no more than ten years.
Class D Felony- prison sentence not to exceed six years.
The sentence for an unclassified Felony is limited by the particular criminal statute.
Arkansas has statutory fine limits in place for the various felony classes.
Class A and Class B felonies carry a maximum fine of $15,000.
Class C and Class D felonies carry a maximum fine of $10,000.
The maximum fine for an unclassified felony is defined in the statute.
The Law Office of David L. Powell, PLC serves clients in Fort Smith, Van Buren, Greenwood, and throughout the state of Arkansas.